The New Italy in New York: Zia Esterina Sorbillo Neapolitan Pizza

I probably should’ve tried the pizza at Zia Esterina Sorbillo on Mulberry Street in Manhattan’s Little Italy because that is what they are famous for in Naples.  I have eaten it there and wrote about it in a previous post.

This visit I was alone and wanted something a little lighter–not that this huge calzone was.

I ordered the salame calzone.  I believe they use good ingredients here, and the prices do reflect that.

The calzone was good but a little peppery for my taste, although I do think it’s the Neapolitan style, as my grandma’s calzones had a good amount of black pepper.

If I return, I would definitely get the pizza. It’s Neapolitan-style, which tends toward a “soggy” center that is different from New York-style pizza. When I told my cousin in Italy that Sorbillo opened up in New York, he was very excited and said it is very good pizza. So I think if you are looking to try a pizza that closely resembles the style of pizza in Naples, this is the place to go.

Leave a Reply

