Vesi, Pizza in Naples

My research on Neapolitan pizza in Naples led me to Da Michele and Sorbillo.  Most of the guidebooks and online reviews and articles talk about these as well as a few others.  My local cousins, however, took to me to their favorite spots.  One is Vesi that I saw mentioned only in the Lonely Planet guidebook.  It recommends going here only if Sorbillo is closed.  My cousins said Vesi has been in business for about 100 years.  Its website says since 1921.  Vesi is a VPN member pizzeria.  When we visited, it was busy, but there was no wait.  While they have a menu with a lot of choices, I wanted to try the Margherita.

Vesi

I would say this pizza closely resembles a New York-style pizza.  While it was still a little wet in the middle, it wasn’t as much as the others.  It could be lifted and eaten with the hands.  There was more cheese than the other pizzas we sampled.  The crust, cheese and sauce all had a good flavor.

I also tried a piece of my cousin’s calzone and it was delicious.  Unlike Lonely Planet, I think Vesi pizza is better than a Plan B pizza–it clearly stands on its own and is worth a visit.

Leave a Reply

