Song e Napule, a Neapolitan Eatery in New York

Formerly Pizza Mezzaluna, Song e Napule is a little hole-in-the-wall eatery on the North side of Houston Street in Noho serving up cuisine from the city of Napoli, Italy, and the Italian region of Campania.  Classic Neapolitan items on the menu include burrata, calamari, insalata caprese, eggplant parmigiana, meatballs in tomato sauce, and of course, pizza.

During our recent visit, we got grilled calamari to start.  I love squid, and grilled squid is one of my favorites.

IMG_2094

They even serve a Neapolitan dish, paccheri genovese, which is with a veal and onion ragu.  This is a dish my family has made for generations (with a different pasta), and it was interesting to see it on a menu.  However, it was somewhat different from the way we make it and a bit more peppery.  Ours is more oniony.  My dish came with parmesan already sprinkled on it.  I don’t usually like that when I go to a restaurant because I’m not sure what quality of cheese they are using.  However, it was probably OK here.

IMG_2096

My friend got the linguine with tomato sauce, arugula, shaved parmesan and pepper flakes.  It was good, but there was a bit too much arugula on top.

IMG_2097

It was a nice gesture to give us a small panna cotta to share.  I think that’s because it took a long time for our entrees to arrive.

IMG_2098

One response to “Song e Napule, a Neapolitan Eatery in New York

  1. I see the American influence, but it sure looks nice.

Leave a Reply

