Scandinavian Roast Dill-Scented Chicken and Potato Gratin

potato gratin

New Scandinavian Cooking with Andreas Viestad is one of my favorite cooking shows. He’s always cooking outdoors on some makeshift stove, so I love to see what he’s going to do next. I have his cookbook and decided to make this roast dill-scented chicken with leeks and this potato gratin with parsnips and rutabaga.  I thought both dishes were very good, but I found that I didn’t like the taste of the parsnips in the gratin. I really like the rutabaga and potato together though. The chicken was perfectly moist with a nice hint of dill and leek.

roast chicken

 

2 responses to “Scandinavian Roast Dill-Scented Chicken and Potato Gratin

  1. Although Scandinavian, I’ve never tried roast chicken and dill, but it sounds good, and the use of rutabaga tells me this recipe may be of Norwegian origin, so thank you for the inspiration.

    • huntfortheverybest

      You’re welcome! I have a great interest in Scandinavian cuisine and culture. I didn’t know about the rutabaga. Andreas Viestad is Norwegian, so that may be why he used it. The chicken was tender and juicy. It’s a very nice recipe. Hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

