Cherokee Wild Huckleberry Cake

huckleberry, blueberry, cake, Cherokee

I got lovely blueberries at the farmer’s market.  They were small with deep blue color and a concentrated blueberry flavor, reminiscent of huckleberries.  I thought they would be great for this Cherokee Wild Huckleberry Cake from A World of Cake by Krystina Castella.  I love international foods, especially cakes and pastries, so I really like this cookbook.  I’ve been wanting to bake a cake from it.  Now that autumn is upon us, this cake is the perfect way to say goodbye to summer.

Castella writes that after European colonization, a Native American-European fusion cuisine emerged.  This particular cake uses masa harina, honey, huckleberries and walnuts.  I omitted the walnuts, and I didn’t make the glaze.  I also baked it in a 9-inch square pan instead of a dome pan.

blueberry, huckleberry, cake, Cherokee

 

 

Leave a Reply

