A Little Bit of Brazil in Soho

brigadeiro, brigadeiro bakery, brazil

While on my way to St. Anthony’s church in Soho, I stumbled upon Brigadeiro Bakery in Soho.  I’d never had a brigadeiro.  A brigadeiro is a Brazilian confection made from condensed milk and butter.  Yeah, you read that right.  Why hadn’t I heard of this before?

Since it was my first time visiting the bakery, the woman behind the counter let me sample one.  I chose banana cinnamon, and wow, the pop of sweet banana with the kick of cinnamon made me buy a half dozen more.

brigadeiro, brigadeiro bakery, brazil

I got chocolate, coconut, pistachio, Oreo and almonds & honey.   All were great.  My two favorites are banana cinnamon and coconut.

brigadeiro, brigadeiro bakery

 

Leave a Reply

