Morgenstern’s Finest Ice Cream

Ice cream is probably my favorite food, so I never pass up a new ice cream shop.  I had been wanting to try Morgenstern’s on the Lower East Side because it is so popular and has such good ratings.  On my visit, I went on an off hour so there was no wait.  First, I have to say I am not a fan of the trend of unusual flavor pairings for ice cream.  It’s not that I’m a complete traditionalist because I do like some creative new flavors, but I most appreciate a well-executed vanilla.  Some of the flavors on the menu at Morgenstern’s were just not appealing to me (salt and pepper pine nut, cardamom lemon jam), so I didn’t know what to order.  We got burnt honey vanilla, angel food vanilla, chocolate oat and salted pretzel caramel.  The vanillas were just OK, not very flavorful.  The chocolate oat was disappointing because I couldn’t taste oat, and the chocolate pieces were frozen and way too hard to eat.  But the salted pretzel caramel actually tasted bad.

IMG_1174

Leave a Reply

