Start a Foodie Book Club

Enter the GIVEAWAY in honor of my 1000th post!  The deadline has been extended until Dec. 15.

I’m not in a book club, but I want to be.  I love all kinds of books, but I think it would be fun to start a foodie book club and make a treat that accompanies the book.  I’d like to do this with fiction and nonfiction foodie books.  Here are some of my ideas for fiction books and recipes:

Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel–This is one of my favorite books.  Quail in rose petal sauce is not something I would normally eat, but in this book, it sounds divine!

Chocolat by Joanne Harris–This is a close second.  Of course, I’d have to serve some kind of chocolate with chili pepper.

Brownies and Broomsticks series by Bailey Cates–A fun mystery series with a lot of recipes of bakery items to choose from.  You could win one of these to start your own book club this month!

Some Enchanted Eclair

Delicious! by Ruth Reichl–I’ve wanted to read this book by Ruth for some time.  I’d have to make something that Ruth reviewed.

The Dinner by Herman Koch–I’ve read differing reviews of this book, so I’d like to read it and see what I think.  How about a book discussion over dinner?

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender–I love the idea of food evoking emotion, so I’m sure I’d love this book.  I’d have to serve lemon cake.

Aftertaste: A Novel in Five Courses by Meredith Mileti–Always interested in a NYC story.  I’d serve something you’d find at a NYC trattoria.

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg–I remember the movie, but I’ve never read the book.  Of course, fried green tomatoes would be on the menu.

Mangoes and Quince by Carol Field–A novel of a woman finding herself through cooking.

What foodie books would you want to read for your book club?

2 responses to “Start a Foodie Book Club

  1. I’m always looking for new books to read … love this list!

Leave a Reply

