My Cousin to be Honored

Today is the visitation for my cousin, Officer Melvin Santiago.  He will be honored with the U.S. Honor Flag–a flag that flew over the World Trade Center ruins on 9/11–and that is now used to honor fallen soldiersHe will also be posthumously honored by a promotion to detective and a Medal of Honor at a special ceremony tonight.  So far, over 51,000 people on Facebook have pledged to leave their lights on this Friday to remember him–and the numbers grow by the minute.  Thank you for all your love and support.

10 responses to “My Cousin to be Honored

  1. So sorry for your loss. What a wonderful way to honor him.

  2. My condolences. I’ll be sure to leave my porch lights on.

  3. Just read about your loss. I am really sorry.

  4. So sorry to read about your loss! My condolences for your family.

  5. Hi Dina,
    I know I’m late to comment, but I just want to say how sorry I am about your cousin. What a horrible, senseless thing. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

