5-Year Blogiversary + A Giveaway

Contest closed.

Happy 5-year blogiversary to Hunting for the Very Best!  I started this blog on July 3, 2009 not knowing where it was going.  I love writing and I love food and I love New York City and all those things intersect here.  To celebrate, I’m giving away a copy of Molly O’Neill’s New York Cookbook.  Yes, this cookbook is old, out in 1992, but I think it’s the most comprehensive cookbook on New York City, and it makes me nostalgic for 1990s New York.  And I think it was the very first cookbook that I personally owned.

I love this cookbook because, being a New York cookbook, it has plenty of Chinese, Irish, Italian and Jewish recipes.  It also represents New York City’s history with recipes from the early Dutch settlers as well as articles and recipes on historical food trends like Saratoga chips and oysters, Horn and Hardart’s automat macaroni and cheese and Sirio Maccioni’s pasta primavera.  In addition to food history, it is a diverse cookbook showcasing recipes from a variety of cultures and countries.  There are also recipes for New York classics like Junior’s and Lindy’s cheesecake and Zabar’s black and white cookies.

This cookbook has my favorite recipe for Irish soda bread from Pat Burns that I make every year.  It also has my go-to chocolate blackout cake recipe.

To enter the giveaway, leave a comment answering What is your favorite NYC food?  For additional entries, like Hunting for the Very Best on Facebook here and leave me a separate comment telling me you did.  For another entry, follow me on Twitter here and leave a separate comment telling me you did.  For another entry, tweet about the giveaway and leave me a comment.  Winner will be contacted via email, so please be sure to include your email address in the field when you leave your comment (it will not be visible to the public).

Contest closes on July 16, 2014, at 12 Noon EST.  One winner will be chosen randomly.  Winner will be announced on Thursday, July 17, 2014.  Open to residents of continental US only.  Winner will be mailed a copy of Molly O’Neill’s New York Cookbook.  Not responsible for lost mail.  If New York Cookbook is not available, Hunting for the Very Best will choose a book of comparable value as a substitute.

Good luck and thank you for following me as I go hunting for the very best!

47 responses to “5-Year Blogiversary + A Giveaway

  1. My favorite food item from NY has to be Black and White Cookies. Love that soft texture and slightly lemony zing! Thanks for hosting a giveaway! I can be reached at thirstyfortea@hotmail.com

  2. And, of course….Happy 5 Years!!!!😉

  3. That’s a milestone to celebrate🙂. Congratulations! I’m always so delighted to discover (or rediscover) some food or eatery via your blog. I can’t honestly say I have a favorite cuisine — it goes with being a native New Yorker who relishes the rich diversity of ethnic cuisine.

    • huntfortheverybest

      Thank you, Deborah! I know what you mean. I like a little bit of everything too! Happy 4th of July!

  4. Pingback: Weekend Whets 7/4–Happy 4th of July! | Hunting for the Very Best

  5. Happy blog anniversary, Dina!🙂

  6. Congratulations on your food writing anniversary. It’s wonderful doing something you love.

  7. Happy blogiversary! Wow 5 years, that’s a milestone, congrats:)

  8. Hmmmm….I guess I’ll go with a NYC bagel, since I’m such a bread lover! Happy anniversary to your blog!!!

  9. And a Twitter follower🙂

  10. i’ve actually never been to NYC….sadly! i’m planning on going for this new years, tho, and can update you then lol! =)

  11. I tweeted about your giveaway (retweeted one of yours!).

  12. Happy 5th blogiversary! I would like to go to afternoon tea at the Plaza and try the Ethiopian restaurant a friend told me about (I can’t remember the name).

  13. Happy blogiversary!! I don’t know if I know NYC well enough to say what my very favorite NY food is, but I had a pretty amazing piece of (asparagus) pizza when I was there last month, so I’m going to have to vote for that.🙂

  14. Happy Anniversary! I haven’t seen enough of New York to know what my favorite food would be, but I remember eating some great Indian food at one of the smaller joints, and it was fab.

  15. Happy Blogiversary! I can’t go to New York without having either a pastrami sandwich or a reuben. Sounds like such a wonderful cookbook! I love looking through older cookbooks. There are always so many gems in them!

  16. Tweeted about the giveaway (retweeted yours)

  17. Congrats on a milestone year! Look forward to another five years of your fun blog.

  18. That’s such an amazing accomplishment! Five years is a long time! Congrats!

  19. I’m so excited for this contest! And I’m excited for your 5th blogiversary! I’ve never been to NYC but I have ordered bread and croissants from Zabar’s. So I’ll have to go with Zabar’s. The book sounds amazing so I will have to order it even if I don’t win:-)

  20. Happy Blogiversary! Wow…5 years seems such a long time. Glad you gad the patience to work constantly on this.

  21. Holy 5 years! I have 5 months🙂 congrats

  22. Happy blogiversary! 5 years – What a milestone to reach!
    I visited New York twice many years ago (and loved it!) Now, let me think what my favourite food was … proper bagels, I think. Ooh, no, actually, it was those wonderful diner breakfasts where you get asked a million questions about how you want your eggs, potatoes, bread etc. Love it!

  23. Happy blogiversary! Congrats on 5 years, that’s fantastic🙂

  24. Pingback: Weekend Whets 7/11 | Hunting for the Very Best

  25. Happy 5th! Ahh so many favorite foods to choose from. It’s been years since I moved away and the nostalgia bug hits often. Bialy- just because they are almost impossible to find anywhere else. Or, perhaps, soup dumplings. The list goes on, that’s the wonderful thing about NYC, whatever you’re craving is out there somewhere!

Leave a Reply

