Southern Living’s The Southern Cake Book

2014-06-24_22-28-44_623

Yay!  I won Southern Living‘s The Southern Cake Book in a giveaway on Cookbooks365Cookbooks365 is a very cool blog by Fran and Shelly who feature recipes from new cookbooks on many different subjects.  This one is all about Southern cakes.

I want to make one of the cakes in the book for an upcoming birthday.  The cover cake is ambrosia cake and it looks pretty fabulous.  The strawberries-and-cream  cake is also a contender, as is the most requested Southern Living recipe, the hummingbird cake.  Having spent much time in the South, I love red velvet cake, caramel cake and pound cake.  The book has traditional recipes for each of these.  There’s a recipe from Chapel Hill, North Carolina, Mama Dip’s carrot cake.  So I look forward to trying a recipe!

18 responses to “Southern Living’s The Southern Cake Book

  1. How fun! Do report back, I’d love to see what you make!

  2. Congratulations on winning your cookbook. So many choices, which one will you choose?

  3. Hope you will post the cake after you make it, You made me curious🙂

  4. That ambrosia cake looks like a masterpiece — I would love it!🙂

  5. What a fantastic prize! Congrats!! I love the cake on the cover. These days I don’t bake as many cakes, since most from scratch recipes don’t work without adjustments in this high altitude. But cakes still are my first kitchen love.

    • huntfortheverybest

      I’m not a big cake baker either…I prefer making cookies. But now and again, I will try one. The cover cake is probably my favorite too!

  6. I bet this is a fabulous cookbooks. The Southern-style cakes I have made are always the best!

  7. Such a lovely cookbook! Congratulations on winning. Can’t wait to find out about the cakes you will make…hope you will post them.

  8. Well that’s fun!! Sounds like lots of yummy recipes in one big book!!

    • huntfortheverybest

      There are a lot of great recipes in the book. Hard to narrow it down to one, but the cover cake is tempting!

  9. Lucky you! Can’t wait to see the cake recipe you post about!🙂

Leave a Reply

