Russian Carrots in Milk Sauce

IMG_1547

I bought this Russian cookbook at a Russian event and since springtime is synonymous with carrots, I decided to make carrots in milk sauce.  It’s a simple recipe.  I liked it, but no one else did.  If you like cream, you will like it.  It is bland, but I found it to be pleasant.  I got a bag of sliced carrots and cooked them with a teaspoon of sugar and pinch of salt.  The milk sauce is a roux made with milk, flour, butter and salt.

IMG_1818

 

5 responses to “Russian Carrots in Milk Sauce

  1. I love nothing better than discovering new dishes, and I’ve never heard of this one. Russian food is pretty must a mystery to me, I need a cookbook like yours!

    • huntfortheverybest

      I agree. I haven’t cooked Russian food in the past, and I’ve only eaten it limited times. I enjoy it though and want to try more.

  2. Interesting recipe! I’ve never had anything like this but I do like cream (and carrots) so I think I will like this🙂

    • huntfortheverybest

      I hadn’t either, and since I like creamed spinach, I thought I’d try it. Let me know what you think!

  3. Very interesting indeed. I grew up with some Russian food but have never heard of this one. It gets complicates when you consider how many sub-cultures are included in Russia. But I surely love my borscht, plov and pelmeni. To me they are Russian food, others would call them Ukrainian, Uzbek and Siberian respectively😉

Leave a Reply

