Irish Breakfast

How about an Irish breakfast for brunch this coming weekend in honor of St. Patrick’s Day?  An Irish breakfast includes eggs, beans, tomatoes, black and white pudding, Irish bacon, Irish sausages (bangers) and potatoes.  It’s a great hearty breakfast for the cold weather.  For those who don’t know, black pudding is a blood pudding made with oatmeal, spices and pork fat.  While it sounds gross, it’s actually pretty tasty.  White pudding is similar sans the blood.

Does anyone remember Thady Con’s Irish pub in Midtown East?  I used to love that place.  They had the best Irish breakfast in the city.  It was also a very happening spot on St. Patrick’s Day.  I was really sorry to see it close.

Irish breakfast from the Hibernian pub in Raleigh, NC

Irish breakfast from the Hibernian pub in Raleigh, NC

4 responses to “Irish Breakfast

  1. I don’t know how anyone can eat black pudding, but they do and they swear by it! White pudding however, I could–and have!–eat by the pound! A real Irish breakfast (in Ireland) includes a lamb chop and fried potatoes too!

    • huntfortheverybest

      Rhona, I like it! I know it sounds gross but it tastes good to me! I like lamb chops too so I’d like a real Irish breakfast as well!

  2. sprinklesandsauce

    yum! i can eat this anytime!😉

Leave a Reply

