Favorite Foodie Season

I love the Lenten season in New York City.  That’s a religious definition for the time between Mardi Gras and Easter, but I’m using it as an easy way to define this point in time.  For a foodie, this is a great time of year.  I love the overindulgence of Mardi Gras.  I love the joviality of the St. Patrick’s Day parade, and I love the accompanying corned beef and cabbage and Irish soda bread.  I love hamentaschen for Purim.  I love hot cross buns.  I love St. Joseph’s Day zeppole and sfinge.  I love matzo for Passover.  I love Easter pies, the savory meat and cheese pie and the wheat pie.  I love all these things, even though I don’t culturally identify with all the religions and ethnicities.  These are all very New York, though many are old traditions that come from the old country.  I like this time of year because I associate these traditions with the immigrants who came at the time my family came to this country.  It’s what I grew up with and what I remember eating from childhood.  Not just the food, I love the cold grayness in the air this time of year.  I love Catholic churches in the city, so solemn, so graceful, so beautiful.  It’s just a certain feeling, one of reflection, one of mourning, ready for the rebirth that is spring.

2 responses to “Favorite Foodie Season

  1. Zeppole and sfinge? Now we’re talking Dina!😉

  2. huntfortheverybest

    I agree!

Leave a Reply

