No Photos at Restaurants?

How would you feel if you couldn’t photograph your food at a restaurant?  Would you still want to eat there?  I was disappointed not to photograph my food at Per Se, but then it was Per Se, so it was an exception.  I would think twice about eating somewhere if I couldn’t take photos.  I’m not obnoxious about it though.  I just use my phone to take photos and if I can get a decent picture without flash, I don’t use it.  I can see how it would get annoying to other customers if one is there with a tripod and huge lens, etc.  But is it any more annoying than customers having phone conversations?  I think it should be up to the restaurant, whatever its culture/policy is, but I do think that a lot of people want to blog today and that restaurant may miss out on potential diners if they do prohibit photography.

2 responses to “No Photos at Restaurants?

  1. I try to be really discrete when I take photos at restaurants. I can see how it could be annoying. Especially if it was a quiet restaurant. But at the same time it perplexes me how someone could prohibit you from taking photos of food you were paying for and putting in your body. It’s an interesting subject for sure.

Leave a Reply

