Two for Tuesday: Homemade Salty Snacks

I’m all about the trend of adding a bit of salt to sweet desserts and treats like salted chocolate chip cookies and brownies.  I decided to try a salted honey pie, so I found this salty honey pie from Joy the Baker.

IMG_1450

This pie is still very sweet, and the small amount of salt just cuts the sweet a bit.  I like custard pies, so I really enjoyed this pie.

Next, I made the DIY Cheez-Its from Yahoo Food.  These were really fun to make.  They were a bit too salty; however, I used salted butter because that’s all I had.  With salted butter, you don’t know how much salt is in the butter, so it’s hard to judge how much salt to use in the crackers.  I would say, if you make these with salted butter, use less salt or don’t sprinkle salt on top.  Other than that, they are really good.  In fact, I had these on the counter, and it was hard to walk by without sneaking one.

IMG_1439

9 responses to “Two for Tuesday: Homemade Salty Snacks

  1. Oooh! That pie looks amazing!

  2. I usually omit the salt in recipes…hehe. So, i am intrigued by this salty honey pie. It sure looks great!🙂
    -Abeer @ http://www.cakewhiz.com

  3. This is beautiful! Well done.🙂

    I had my own kitchen disaster with my pecan pie, and am taking suggestions on what to do better the next time around. It’d be great to hear your tips!

    http://helloscarlettblog.com/2014/02/06/the-not-so-simple-but-very-beautiful-pecan-pie/

    Emory

  4. Your cheezits look so much better than mine! I tried a gluten free recipe a while back and they were soooo thick. Not the thin crispy cheez it I’m used to. I’m going to have to try these!

Leave a Reply

