Relish

Relish is a fun restaurant on Creedmoor Road in Raleigh, NC.  The dishes in Relish are Southern-inspired with some playful creativity.  It is definitely a refreshing break from the sports bars that are so plentiful in the area.  You’ll always find something new at Relish, as they are always trying different things to update Southern cuisine.  The restaurant also has a retail market with items from local food purveyors and cooking classes.

We got fried pickles to start, and they were quickly gobbled up.

fried pickles

Relish is known for its pimento cheese, so I got pimento cheese fritters.  These were amazing!

pimento cheese

If you like cheese, then you’ll love Relish, as they have a number of grilled cheese sandwiches and mac and cheese varieties.  I got the Wisconsin–sliced apples, sharp cheddar and applewood bacon on sourdough bread.  It was yummy and came with this delicious broccoli salad.

2013-12-17_18-32-57_78

My companions got the fish and chips, which is a favorite.

2013-12-17_18-33-02_872

And the shrimp and grits, which is another favorite.

2013-12-17_18-33-09_566

And a veggie plate for vegetarians with fun veggies like fried green tomatoes.

2013-12-17_18-33-17_908

5 responses to “Relish

  1. Dina, I love pimento cheese, so I expect I would love those pimento cheese fritters!

  2. Please, teach me about fried pickles! Are they sliced pickles originally in vinegar, that are dipped in batter and deep fried? And whilst I’m here, in lesson Southern Style 101, what on earth are grits? I see them all over the internet but really have no idea what they are!
    I think I need a gastro tour of the US, I have so much to learn!
    Janie x

    • huntfortheverybest

      Hi Janie! I’ve never made fried pickles, but yes, I think they are the jarred pickles, dipped in batter and deep fried. They are a yummy treat. Grits are a staple in the Southern US. Are you familiar with Italian polenta? Grits are similar to polenta. Mostly, Southerners eat white grits, a little more on the watery side (as opposed to thick) with butter. Charleston grits (named after Charleston, South Carolina) are creamy grits. Mostly, they are served at breakfast, but there are also dinner dishes like shrimp and grits that are popular too. Here’s an article on Southern Living magazine: http://www.southernliving.com/food/kitchen-assistant/grits-recipes-00417000072410/

      • At last! Thank you so much for both explanations! I can’t imagine what battered, fried pickles would taste like so I may have to give them a go.
        And I’m so glad I finally understand what grits are. Not sure why I never thought to google it before now. Off to read the link, many thanks!
        Janie x

Leave a Reply

