Two for Tuesday: Arepas & Empanadas

My love affair with empanadas doesn’t go back very far, but when I first had them, it was forever.  My preference is for corn flour empanadas, and I opt for the more traditional ones rather than concoctions like pizza empanada.  I was excited to see that Raleigh, NC, got an empanada bar, so I had to try it.  Calavela Empanada is in a trendy neighborhood near City Market in downtown Raleigh, and it also has a bar for the night crowd.  Downtown Raleigh tends to have a young professional crowd, and that’s who patronized this restaurant when I visited.

I wound up getting the Piggly Wiggly since I was in North Carolina–it’s a pulled pork empanada and the holy frijoles with black beans, sweet potato and Oaxacan cheese.

empanadas

Both of these lacked flavor, and the dough was more of a pie pastry than what I’m used to for empanada dough.

My friend got the champ, which is a mushroom empanada and poblano loco with poblano peppers.  She felt the same way about hers as I did.  On the flip side, these are only $3 a pop, so this is the cheapest option for a night out in downtown Raleigh.

Guasaca in West Raleigh is a fast food restaurant serving arepas.  Arepas are Venezuelan breads made from corn flour.  I’ve had them in the city, but I must admit I was not a huge fan.  What’s cool here is that you can order a signature arepa or build your own.  I got an avocado chicken arepa and a tilapia one with baked plantains and caramelized onions.  I also got red sauce and cilantro sauce on the side.  These were pretty yummy, although messy because the bread is not a pocket so it doesn’t hold the ingredients.

2013-12-16_14-06-37_467

8 responses to “Two for Tuesday: Arepas & Empanadas

  1. These look like good choices for a quick evening meal.. without the work:) I’d love to see your versions!

  2. The empanadas here in Miami are amazing, though those look pretty great!
    xx Lexi, Glitter, Inc.

  3. That mushroom empanada looks yum!

  4. Thanks, Dina, for stopping by my blog G’day Souffle.’ I’ve had a look at your blog and will especially find useful your ‘Weekend Whet’ column. My daughter lives in Brooklyn and when I visit her in the future, I’d like to try some of the cooking classes!

  5. The tilapia arepa sounds wonderful!

Leave a Reply

