Soy in Our Food

It’s come to my attention recently that soy is in just about every product we eat.  My guess is that soybean oil was substituted for other oils that had trans fats.  Soy flour is used as a textured vegetable protein.  Soy lecithin is used as an emulsifier, keeping oil and water in food from separating.  But if you take a look in your cabinet, you will see soybean oil, soy lecithin or soy flour in just about every product on the shelf.  Soy is also hidden under other terms like vegetable oil.  Many purport soy to be a health food because the cancer rate of some cancers among Asians is lower.  However, Asians eat it in its fermented state, as miso, tempeh, natto and some soy sauce.  There are a number of things that unfermented soy can do to your body.  Some people have soy allergies, but I’m not even talking about that.  I’m particularly interested in the negative effects on women’s bodies.  For example, eating excess soy stimulates production of estrogen that can lead to the growth of uterine fibroids.

Why is there soy in our food?  Because it is easy to produce, i.e., cheap.  A cheap way to feed the masses, and it can be used in many ways.  (I always find the argument against obesity to be interesting.  Obesity-related diseases are such a huge cost so there’s a (discriminatory) war on “fat people”; however, the health effects from these food manipulations/additives are OK because it saves a ton of money for corporations [and corporations are immune from discrimination].)  In addition, more than 90% of the soybeans the United States grows are genetically modified.

So I went through my cabinet and these are the items that had soy in it:

can of tuna

can of herring

Hellmann’s mayonnaise

Odwalla superfood juice

sugar-free Icebreakers mints

sugar-free gum

Worcestershire sauce

chocolate chips for baking

Nabisco original graham crackers

Lipton soup secrets noodle soup and spring vegetable soup

Smucker’s sugar-free chocolate syrup and caramel

Campbell’s cream of mushroom soup

Progresso red clam sauce

So I went to the grocery store and randomly checked the labels of other foods:

Skippy peanut butter

jars of tomato/pasta sauce

Chef Boyardee pastas in the can

Campbell’s Spaghetti-Os

Progresso chicken noodle soup

Campbell’s beef gravy

Hormel chili

yellow cake mix

can of cake frosting

chocolate chip and Oreo cookies

Ritz crackers

salad dressings

bread

Biscoff spread

rainbow sprinkles

canned biscuits

Saltines

(Basically, anything with chocolate will have soy lecithin in it because you need lecithin to make chocolate; however, lecithin can come from other sources.  [According to the same article, soy lecithin has trace amounts of soy so it doesn’t affect those with soy allergies.])

So how does one stay away from soy?  By eating whole foods, ones that are not packaged with soybean oil, soy flour or soy lecithin?  How about by eating fish?  Well, think twice about that.  Farm-raised fish feed contains soy.  What about chicken?  Chicken feed is made from soy.  What about eating fruits and vegetables?  Possibly, but even the wax they use on vegetables can contain soy.

It may be argued that trace amounts of soy are in each of these products, but then taken together, at every meal you eat, how much soy are we getting every day and what is it doing to us?

3 responses to “Soy in Our Food

  1. I recently discovered the truth about soy too. Since removing it from my diet, I have seen great improvement with my hormone balance. It is really difficult to stay away from, even when you eat organic – you really do have to look and every label. Basically, you have to stick to a diet of wild caught fish, free roaming chicken/beef and lots of fresh produce to avoid it completely. I have a few more references in my blog post if you’d like to check it out: http://healthyandhopeful.wordpress.com/2013/07/11/soy-it-aint-so/

    • huntfortheverybest

      Chrissy, Thank you so much for contacting me. I read your post on soy and I’m even more outraged. It’s difficult for me to make the change because I love to eat out a lot and when you do, it’s impossible to control what restaurants cook with. However, I think I’m going to be curbing my eating out and will be cooking more for myself in an effort to avoid soy. I’ve just started making the changes, so hopefully, once I do, I’ll feel the health benefits you are. Thanks again for writing and I look forward to reading more of your blog!

  2. Pingback: Big Soy | Hunting for the Very Best

Leave a Reply

