Two for Tuesday: Gnocchi

Gnocchi are fast and easy to cook for dinner.  Recently, I saw a gnocchi recipe in the December 2013 Food Network magazine and made it along with one of my long-time favorite gnocchi recipes.  The Food Network recipe isn’t posted on its site yet, but all it is is baking a package of gnocchi with olive oil, kale and parmesan cheese (I used pecorino romano).  It’s really good.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My favorite gnocchi recipe is gnocchi with gorgonzola sauce.

Gnocchi With Gorgonzola Sauce

1 package gnocchi

1 tablespoon butter

2 cups half and half or whipping cream with 1 tablespoon cornstarch

3 tablespoons gorgonzola

Melt the butter in a pot.  Add the half and half.  Let it come to a boil.  Lower.  Add gorgonzola.  Mix and heat through until it becomes a creamy sauce.  Add to cooked gnocchi.  (Gnocchi cook fast, so you can start boiling the water for them while you make the sauce.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6 responses to “Two for Tuesday: Gnocchi

  1. Gnocchie with gorgonzola sounds like a wonderful combination!

  2. I’ve actually never had gnocchi and enjoyed it (i think it’s the texture I never liked) but this looks delish!

    • huntfortheverybest

      Gnocchi are softer than pasta and do have a different texture. I like both of these dishes, mostly because of the cheese!

  3. While I like both recipes, yours is the one I’m sure I’d prefer! Happy New Year!! xx

Leave a Reply

