Dina’s Best of 2013

As 2013 ends, it’s a time to reflect on all the delicious meals and treats I had this year in NYC.  There were a lot!  Of course, there was the bad birthday dinner at Dovetail followed by two birthday saves at Quality Meats and Keens Steakhouse.  There were also some firsts.  I had white truffles for the first time.  I also had shaved ice for the first time.  I also had foie gras in its pure form, but I prefer not to remember that.  I returned to steak, as I hadn’t eaten beef in years and ate at a number of classic NY steakhouses–The Old Homestead, Keens and Delmonico’s.  I explored Asian cuisine more–especially ramen.  No, I didn’t get in on the biggest food trends of 2013–the Cronut or the ramen burger–only because I don’t do lines or eat burgers.  The favorites that I am listing here are my favorites of this year, meaning that I ate at the restaurant for the first time this year or tried something new this year.  (So this may not be my list of favorites of all time, just of this year.)  If something didn’t make my list, was it bad?  No, it just wasn’t exceptional.  You’ll notice a lot of trendy restaurants missing from this list.  Why?  Well, no particular reason other than they weren’t exceptionally delicious to me!  So without further ado–

Here are lists of my favorites for the year.

Dishes I go back for:

Balkanika dips

Balkanika dips

Ramen Takumi shio ramen

ramen

Fay Da coconut bun

2013-10-08_16-41-25_559

Tous les Jours milk bread

2013-10-15_17-25-12_0

Basta Pasta fusilli with free range chicken ragu, fresh tomatoes and prosciutto

pasta

Reunion totchos

tater tots

Royce white chocolate nama

NAMA white chocolate

My favorite dishes of the year:

Seafood strozzapreti at Saint Ambroeus

strozzapreti

Kale with tomatoes at Saint Ambroeus

kale

Pan roasted hake with braised artichokes, sugar snap peas, turnips and chervil bouillon at Tocqueville

Tocqueville hake

Truffled creamy parmesan grits and sunny side up country egg with squire hill farm’s araucana egg and house cured veal bacon at Tocqueville

Tocqueville grits

Smoked coconut cheesecake at Spot Dessert Bar

coconut cheesecake

Stuffed cabbage at Uncle Vanya

stuffed cabbage

Naga ice cream at Vosges

Vosges

Steak sauce at Quality Meats

QM steak sauce

Shaved ice at Paris Baguette

2013-07-17_16-15-02_848

Thick-cut smoked bacon at Keens Steakhouse

2013-07-26_21-29-20_655

Butterscotch sundae at Keens Steakhouse

2013-07-26_22-45-39_554

Fried calzones at Sal’s

IMG_0294

Baked Alaska at Delmonico’s

2013-11-09_18-43-00_77

My favorite restaurants this year:  (This includes food, service and ambience.)

Tocqueville

Keens Steakhouse

Delmonico’s

My favorite ramen:

Ramen Takumi

Totto Ramen II (no wait, more space, same great food)

2013-11-14_18-26-59_958

My favorite steak:

The Old Homestead

OH filet mignon

Keens

2013-07-26_22-03-02_608

Delmonico’s

delmonico steak

My favorite ice cream:

Vosges

3 responses to “Dina’s Best of 2013

  1. What a great reflection for 2013. Happy New Years to you!

Leave a Reply

