Panforte

Panforte is a dried fruit and nut confection from Siena, Italy.  While I have tried it, it is not something my family traditionally eats, as it is from a different region of Italy.  However, I like it and wanted to make my own.  So I used a recipe from Maria Lo Pinto’s book The Art of Regional Italian Cooking.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It came out really well.  She says to butter the pan and I didn’t because I used a nonstick pan, but I definitely would butter it next time because it stuck to the pan.  It is quite yummy though.  I used dried cherries, citron, pine nuts and almonds in mine.  I think I’d try this again with no chocolate, or very little, less cinnamon, no cherries and just more pine nuts, almonds and citron because that suits my taste.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

