Struffoli, Italian Honey Balls

Even more than bows, my favorite Italian cookies at Christmas are struffoli.  I love these!  My parents and grandparents grew up making these wonderful honey balls.  I’ve written about them before in the Traditional Neapolitan Treats post.

IMG_1258

My grandmas labored over these and bows, kneading dough by hand.  Today, with my trusty KitchenAid mixer, kneading dough is really easy!  So making more batches of these is not tiring.  They are easy to make.  Just roll out the dough, cut it into strips and roll them between your hands.

IMG_1237

Then, cut bite-size pieces.

IMG_1240

When the oil is hot enough in the fryer, fry them until golden and let them drain on paper towels.  Then you make the honey syrup and coat them.

IMG_1253

If you don’t want to make them, I have had them at various bakeries in Little Italy.  Last year, I found delicious dense ones at Buon Italia in Chelsea Market.

6 responses to “Struffoli, Italian Honey Balls

  1. I’ve always wanted to make these but was afraid of the frying part of it!! I always make such a mess with hot oil. They look awesome!

  2. Love how this sounds! Yummy cookies coated in honey! 🙂

  3. Sounds so good! Thanks for the step by step pictures! I have never even heard of strufoli, but sounds so good!

  4. Super easy and I bet delicious! Fried dough with honey, who can resist that?!

Leave a Reply

