Swedish Jitterbug Cookies

I’m getting my Christmas baking started, and I want to try some new cookies this year.  I’m going to post them as I bake them.  I’m trying cookies from different cookbooks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These Swedish Jitterbug Cookies come from Swedish Cakes and Cookies by Skyhorse Publishing.  These are tasty cookies, but they are a bit messy to make.  The recipe in this book calls for one egg yolk in the dough, but you must put two egg yolks in the dough or your dough will not roll.  It’s better though because you use two egg whites for the meringue so waste not want not.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
These cookies have a nice buttery shortbread taste and a sweet chewiness from the meringue.  They are addictive!

7 responses to “Swedish Jitterbug Cookies

  1. These look cute! Did the book say why they’re called jitterbug cookies?

  2. I’ve never tried swedish jitterbug cookies before but they sound awesome, thanks for sharing🙂

Leave a Reply

