Sweet Potato Ice Cream

For Thanksgiving dessert, we always have the usual suspect pies–pecan, pumpkin, apple and sweet potato.  This year, I wanted something different, so I made ice cream.  I made a pumpkin pie ice cream following this Cuisinart pumpkin pie ice cream recipe.  In addition, I was going to make a sweet potato pie with my North Carolina sweet potatoes but opted to make sweet potato ice cream.  Now, this recipe made a more liquidy ice cream, so for the sweet potato ice cream, I put less whole milk.  Also, the sweet potato had a thicker consistency than the pumpkin puree, so it also helped to thicken the ice cream.  This ice cream has a starchy mouthfeel similar to taro ice cream, so if you like that, you will like this.  I did!

2013-11-27_20-41-09_614

Sweet Potato Ice Cream

2 large sweet potatoes, mashed

1 cup whole milk

2 1/2 cups heavy cream

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon vanilla

Wash and peel potatoes.  Prick potatoes with a fork and microwave for 20 minutes.  In the bowl of a mixer, mash potatoes.  Then add milk, sugar, cinnamon, vanilla and cream.  Mix well and add to ice cream freezer.  Follow ice cream freezer directions.  It took about 30 minutes of churning.

2013-11-27_20-28-52_865

14 responses to “Sweet Potato Ice Cream

  1. Reblogged this on Miami Swamp.

  2. Sounds wonderful…and the color is sublime!

  3. Taro ice cream is one of my favorites, we call it ube ice cream in the Philippines. Sweet potato sounds like an intriguing flavor. Must try🙂

  4. Taro ice cream is one of my favorite flavors, we call it ube in the Philippines. Sweet potato sounds intriguing, must try🙂

  5. Hi Dina, it’s Dina:) Thanks for your comments on my blog. We have one more thing in common: I like to hunt for the very best as well. This ice cream is my kind of food. I can have sweet potatoes all day long and sometime I do. I have never had it in ice cream though, will put that on my to do list when we get back. Lovely blog you have here. Will stay in touch.

  6. You did post a picture! lol! Looks delicious!

  7. This looks delicious Dina! And it sounds delicious too😀

Leave a Reply

