Ramen Week: Day 2: Bassanova Ramen

Bassanova Ramen is a new ramen place in the heart of Chinatown.  The menu at Bassanova is scant–only three types of ramen with broth.  They also have a menu with a few ramen dishes without broth.  The ramen here is a bit pricier than other ramen shops and pricier than the restaurants in the area.  Below is a picture of the broth ramen dishes.

2013-11-15_12-32-02_517

The décor has a modern design and sleek, clean feel.  The most unusual thing is the utensils–extra-large chopsticks.  The waitress asked me if that would bother me, but I had never used large chopsticks so I went in with an open mind.  I didn’t have a problem with them at all.  The spoons were also larger.

I ordered the tondaku ramen with a tonkotsu, or pork, broth.  I was surprised that there were more noodles than broth, as I understand the broth to be the showcase of a bowl of ramen (although ramen are the noodles).  However, it was very flavorful.  The noodles were thin and tasted good.  The broth was rich and dark, a bit oily, but the right amount of salt to make it flavorful but not too salty.

2013-11-15_12-08-31_945

Given that there is a menu of ramen dishes without broth and that there was more ramen in the bowl than broth, I think Bassanova Ramen’s focus is the ramen.

2 responses to “Ramen Week: Day 2: Bassanova Ramen

  1. I love ramen! This one looks delish!🙂

Leave a Reply

