Ramen Week: Day 1: Totto Ramen II

I’ve been on a ramen kick lately, so I thought I’d do a ramen week.  Prior to this ramen week, I ate ramen at Ippudo, Totto Ramen and Ramen Takumi.

Last week, the second location of Totto Ramen opened.  Luckily, I got there earlier in the evening, so there was no wait.  However, as time went by, there were people waiting but nowhere near as many as at the 52nd Street location.  I have eaten at that location before and know that space and time are a premium.  There isn’t much on West 51st Street between 9th and 10th Avenues, so this is a welcome addition.  The space is larger and more roomy.

On this visit, I got the chicken paitan ramen with straight homemade noodles in a whole chicken and premium soy sauce-based soup topped with scallion, onion, char siu pork and a nori.  I got corn and a seasoned boiled egg as well.  The seasoned egg at Totto is the best!  I really enjoyed this.  I’m used to the pork-based broths, but the chicken is also very delicious.  It was creamy, soothing and just plain good.

2013-11-14_18-26-59_958

My friend got the spicy ramen and also loved it.

2013-11-14_18-27-05_468

6 responses to “Ramen Week: Day 1: Totto Ramen II

  1. Seems like a great place to get ramen!

  2. I have yet to try chicken ramen, I’m afraid it hasn’t really caught on in Los Angeles yet. Tonkotsu is still the big ramen flavor here. Your ramen looks so good!

Leave a Reply

