Dinner: Makana

Makana brings Hawaiian and Japanese barbecue to the Upper West Side with its new location.  I recently drove by this area, and when I saw the name and the sign, I knew I had to try it.  I didn’t realize it was a small, mostly-takeout spot, though, so there aren’t many seats here.  But my friend and I got the cozy table by the window and shared some delicious food.  I got the Kalua pork, smoked slowly roasted for hours with cabbage.  The plates come with macaroni salad, white rice and garden salad.  I didn’t understand why it was served with rice when it had macaroni salad.  I don’t usually double up on my carbs, so I didn’t eat the rice.  But I really enjoyed the pork and the macaroni salad.  Really yummy!

2013-10-27_19-09-47_640

I couldn’t resist getting the Spam avocado roll, even though I don’t eat Spam, and it was good too.  My friend got a spider roll.

2013-10-27_19-14-20_231

My friend also got one of the noodle soups, and he loved it.

2013-10-27_19-08-33_673

6 responses to “Dinner: Makana

  1. The double starch reminds of Irish food! Sounds like fun, and those rolls look great.

  2. The rolls look absolutely delicious!

  3. Oooh I want to go here and try this; looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

