Sweets Week: Day 2: Treat House

The owners of Treat House on the Upper West Side are probably hoping that rice krispie treats are the new cupcake.  While rice krispie treats also bring us back to childhood memories, I’m not sure they have the mass appeal of cupcakes.  However, the rice krispie treats at Treat House do give cupcakes a run for their money.  On my visit, I got four treats, caramel sea salt, chocolate raspberry, s’mores and a seasonal maple pecan.  The former two were almost sold out, and they were fresh and delicious.  There were plenty left of the latter two, and they were a bit on the stale side.  However, the caramel sea salt and chocolate raspberry are delicious and add depth to a rice krispie treat, which is something I didn’t think could be perfected upon.  My preference is the chocolate raspberry.

2013-10-27_20-55-36_737

8 responses to “Sweets Week: Day 2: Treat House

  1. Ooh, I love the combination of chocolate + raspberry, so I know I’d love that one. YUM!

  2. I agree… chocolate and raspberry is a heavenly combination. But the other flavours sound pretty amazing, too…

  3. When I get to NY I’ll happily try all of them. xx

  4. Elizabeth @ SugarHero.com

    Haha, I think everyone is hoping they’ll crack the code on the new cupcake! My money was on the macaron for awhile, but it hasn’t taken off as much as the cupcake. I can’t really see crispy treats getting there, but I will admit a caramel sea salt one sounds pretty amazing.

    • huntfortheverybest

      I know! I really have to be in the mood to eat a macaron whereas I can eat a cupcake pretty much any time. But, yes, sea salt caramel was delish!

Leave a Reply

