Sweets Week: Day 3: Jennifer’s Way

So for this week’s Sweets Week, I explored Italian bakeries and ice cream.  Today, I’m going to do something a little different–Jennifer’s Way.  I reported that actress Jennifer Esposito opened a gluten-free bakery in the East Village.  The bakery is a small spot with a limited menu of gluten-free baked goods.

2013-10-09_16-07-24_78

All the items in the bakery are also gluten, dairy, peanut, refined sugar and soy free (except for the red velvet cupcake which has soy in the red dye).  There are breads, cookies, muffins, cupcakes and more.  I opted for the jam thumbprint and the devil’s food cupcake.  Um, these things tasted great, like not gluten-free great.  I don’t have food allergies, but I have tried gluten-free baked goods at various bakeries.  (Hey, I’ll never pass up a bakery.)  I usually don’t like them very much.  But these–these taste like the real thing.  And I’m trying to limit the soy in my diet (fat chance of doing that–it’s in every product in the grocery store, including a can of tuna!), so I was happy the baked goods are soy free here.  I only wish the bakery was closer to my apartment!
 
2013-10-09_17-58-06_350

4 responses to “Sweets Week: Day 3: Jennifer’s Way

  1. Glad to hear these are so tasty, I will need to keep a eye out next time I’m in the neighborhood!

  2. Soy is in tuna? Yikes. I am going to have to start reading labels more closely. Glad this bakery hit the spot🙂

Leave a Reply

