Two for Tuesday: Ice Cream

I’m going to do a Sweets Week, since we kicked off the week with Italian bakeries. So this week’s Two for Tuesday is ice cream. I can’t believe I haven’t written about my favorite ice cream shop yet. Chinatown Ice Cream Factory has the creamiest, yummiest ice cream in NYC. They also have a wide variety of standard American flavors like strawberry cheesecake and Oreo, but my favorites are the Asian flavors like ginger, black sesame, red bean, taro, lychee, pandan and even durian!

2013-08-07_18-59-53_676

In the picture above, I have my favorite flavor on the bottom, almond cookie, followed by taro and red bean.  Yum!  While Chinatown ice cream is a classic, having been in NYC for 28 years, there are always new ice cream places popping up.

Davey’s Ice Cream is a new ice cream shop in the East Village.  A very cute shop, Davey’s has a limited menu of ice cream, but the staff is super friendly and very enthusiastic about the ice cream.  I got vanilla and sweet corn.  I was hoping it would be more creamy than it was, but the vanilla had a very pure vanilla flavor.  I am also a fan of corn ice cream, and I guess I was expecting it to be more like the corn flavor at Sundaes and Cones, a flavor I love.  However, it tasted more like the buttered popcorn jellybean from Jelly Belly, with caramel swirls.

2013-10-09_16-15-39_663

Leave a Reply

