Two for Tuesday: Union Square Sushi

If you find yourself in Union Square and are looking for some good sushi, there are a number of options.  I visited two that I think are really good, depending if you are north or south of the square.  If you are north of the square, try Sushi Chosi on Irving Place in Gramercy.  It’s one of the few places in the area that has an outdoor patio in the summer.  On this visit, I got a tuna avocado roll, a Philly roll and an asparagus avocado roll, and they were all yummy.

2013-05-22_14-14-56_451

South of Union Square, on University Place, you’ll find the classic Japanese restaurant, Japonica.  On a sunny day, it’s nice to sit in its glassed-in patio.  I got a salmon avocado roll because that’s one of my favorites, but I also wanted to try something different, so I got a Japanese pumpkin, or kabocha, roll.  I’ve had kabocha before at Souen but not in sushi.  I’m a fan of sweet potato rolls, so I figured it would be similar.  I really liked it.

2013-05-10_13-34-27_622

6 responses to “Two for Tuesday: Union Square Sushi

  1. Love sushi! Philly roll is one of my favorite. 🙂

  2. If I am ever in New York, I’m going to ask your advice on where to dine. You are definitely in the know. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your nice comment.

  3. I got super excited when I saw Union Square and thought we should totally grab a meal sometime. And then I realized that your NY Union Square is not the same as my SF Union Square and that we couldn’t be any further apart if we tried.

Leave a Reply

