Sal’s Pizza

I can’t believe I have never had Sal’s pizza before!  Sal’s has the best slice of New York pizza.  If you’re looking for New York-style pizza, Sal’s on Broome Street in Little Italy is the place to go.

IMG_0293

While the pizza is great, you should also try the fried calzones.  Everywhere you go, calzones are baked.  They shouldn’t be!  We’ve always eaten calzones fried.  Both my grandmas would put mozzarella, ricotta and chunks of ham or salami inside the calzone and then fry it.  These were a special treat.  We make them now too but not as often, and this brought me back to those fun times.

IMG_0294

I recommend the traditional at Sal’s.  It is phenomenal.  They even have one named the San Gennaro with sausage, peppers and onions.

7 responses to “Sal’s Pizza

  1. I’ve never had a fried calzone before. That looks and sounds so decadent. If I had a deep fryer, I’d be searching for a recipe and making them for dinner tonight. Good thing I don’t have a fryer! lol.

  2. I’ve been to Sal’s and I must agree…it is the best! I only wish I lived closer!

  3. I don’t know if I agree with best slice.. pizza wars! But definitely delicious!

  4. Very interesting to learn about fried calzones. I never had it fried before. I wonder if it would taste similar to Easter-European piroshki then. Probably just with different fillings

Leave a Reply

