Two for Tuesday: Korean Bakeries

In Koreatown, NYC, there are two Korean bakeries that serve Asian and French-inspired baked goods and desserts.  The first is Paris Baguette, which is also selling out its version of the Cronut.  Paris Baguette is always crowded, and the aisle where the pastries are is a little cramped.  But this place has the best shaved ice, which I wrote about before.

2013-08-03_18-52-03_808
This is the cup version. I prefer the bowl version just because you can easily get to the all the flavors.

2013-06-20_20-37-21_224
This picture includes a yummy chestnut bread on the right and a sour cream bread to the bottom left with an interesting sour taste.

Paris Baguette also makes this milk pudding called royal pudding.  I’ve tried plain and berry.
2013-06-20_20-34-07_657
Both are great, but I love the berry.  And it’s served in this darling glass that you can keep!

2013-06-28_21-06-39_961

The second bakery is Tous Les Jours.  When you walk in Tous Les Jours, you’re overwhelmed with the cases of baked goods and cakes.  There’s so much to choose from, and they are so lovely.  Check out that red velvet cake on the left below.  How pretty!

2013-06-20_18-57-59_549

This is the place to get a fancy cake for a special occasion.

2013-06-20_18-58-03_398

I’ve written about the honeydew ice candy I had.  The mango is good too.

2013-08-06_18-17-32_862
They also make a good shaved ice.
2013-08-03_18-23-44_180
I’m addicted to a milk bread that I haven’t taken a picture of. It’s a soft yeast roll with this whipped creamy filling that is fluffy and good.  Yum!

I don’t think you can go wrong at either bakery, but my favorite items so far have been the fruit shaved ice at Paris Baguette and the milk bread and honeydew ice candy at Tous Les Jours.  I know I’ll be back to try more!

One response to “Two for Tuesday: Korean Bakeries

  1. Ooooh. That milk bread sounds so good. So many tempting sweets!

Leave a Reply

