Dinner: The Old Homestead

For a friend’s recent birthday, we went to the Old Homestead in the Meatpacking District of Manhattan.  The Old Homestead is a classic steakhouse in New York, and a restaurant no guy will say no to.

I’m not a big beef eater–in fact, I rarely eat beef.  However, I did partake since I was at the Old Homestead.

For starters, I got the roasted beet, goat cheese and baby spinach salad with walnut vinaigrette.  I love a good roasted beet and goat cheese salad, and this one was quite good.

OH kale salad

My friend loved the bread presentation and happily dipped the fingers of bread in the cheesy sauce underneath.

Old Homestead bread
For an appetizer, we shared the rock shrimp tempura and the crispy calamari with sweet Thai chili sauce and roasted cashews.  I really liked the sauce on the calamari, and my friend thought they were both delicious.

OH appetizers
I got the 10 oz. filet mignon with the hashed brown cake and bordelaise sauce.  The menu says it was wrapped with applewood smoked bacon, but I don’t recall that and the photo doesn’t look like it is.  This was so tender and flavorful.  I loved the accompanying sauce.  I’m not a hashed brown fan, but it was good too.

OH filet mignon
For sides, we shared creamed spinach and garlic mashed potatoes, two classic steakhouse sides, and both are my friend’s favorites.  I thought they were average, but he loved them.

OH sides
My friend got the 32-oz. Gotham rib steak on the bone.  I can’t tell you how many times he said, “This is the best meal I’ve ever had.”

OH steak

One response to “Dinner: The Old Homestead

  1. Pingback: Dinner: Quality Meats | Hunting for the Very Best

Leave a Reply

