Dinner: Ippudo NY

Ippudo NY opened its West 51st Street location this Monday, and I was there.  I was surprised there were no long lines for opening night.

The restaurant has a bar in the front room and a large, communal table in the main dining room.  We were seated at a table in the traditional dining area.  I like the modern and clean feel of the white and reddish-orange chairs and booths against the wood grain and brick.

The menu has a large number of appetizers along with a lengthy listing of sake.  I just wanted to try the ramen.  I went with the classic ramen since it was my first time having pork-based broth–and added the egg.

classic ramen

I thought it was delicious, simple yet flavorful.
My friend opted for the spicy ramen, a dish she also enjoyed very much.

spicy ramen
I look forward to returning to Ippudo to try the tapas and more ramen.

2 responses to “Dinner: Ippudo NY

  1. I tried eating at Ippudo in Taipei, Taiwan, but haven’t tried it in the US or Japan. The ramen was pretty good and I also enjoyed other small dishes too. Making me hungry by looking at your pictures.🙂

  2. Pingback: Ramen Week: Day 1: Totto Ramen II | Hunting for the Very Best

Leave a Reply

