Two for Tuesday: Cheesecake Variations

Cheesecake is a classic New York dessert, and it’s also ubiquitous.  Every restaurant has its version, and some are better than others.  While I’m not a big fan of cheesecake, I have enjoyed a piece of Junior’s.  Then, I found something on Junior’s menu that caught my eye:  strawberry shortcake cheesecake.  Yes, the best of both worlds.  Strawberry cheesecake sandwiched between strawberry shortcake.  It is as good as it sounds.  And the best part:  delivered to your door.

Junior's strawberry shortcake cheesecake

Another interesting cheesecake I found was at Spot Dessert Bar on 32nd Street in Koreatown.  On the third floor of the Food Gallery, there’s a Spot Dessert Bar location with ice cream, cupcakes, macaroons and fancy dessert plates.  I ordered the smoked coconut cheesecake, coconut cheesecake smoked with Thai aromatic candle and coconut ice cream with basil seeds.  It comes with peaches, blueberries and jellies.  I’m not sure what is meant by Thai aromatic candle, but this was one of the best desserts I’ve had in a long time.  The foam on top had a citrus flavor.  The clear jellies had a hard texture, but I wasn’t able to discern the flavor.  All the accompaniments went well with the cheesecake, but the cheesecake can stand alone.

coconut cheesecake

Leave a Reply

