Lunch: Jack’s Bistro & Bar

Jack’s Bistro & Bar is an American bistro on University Place that offers a $12 express lunch that comes with an entrée, frites, soup or salad and unlimited soft drinks.  On my lunch visit, I ate off the lunch menu, and I’m glad I did.  The appetizers were too appetizing to stick to the lunch menu.  I ordered sweet potato fries that came served in a paper cone with Dijon and harissa sauces.  These were some of the best I’ve had in NYC, and the harissa sauce was delish.

Jack's sweet potato fries

My friend ordered another intriguing appetizer: risotto tots–yes, tater tots made with risotto. They are described as parmesan and risotto mini-cakes topped with melted parmesan and white truffle oil. These were good, but not as good as the sweet potato fries.

Jack's risotto tots

For my entrée, I got the sautéed brook trout, cornmeal dusted trout with sweet corn, almond and scallion rice with pesto vinaigrette. I love trout, and this was an excellent trout dish. The rice and accompanying sauce were delicious.

Jack's trout
My friend got the quesadilla.

Jack's enchiladas

One response to “Lunch: Jack’s Bistro & Bar

  1. Wow! That was a delicious array of dishes. I am loving the risotto tots…they look and sound great. Thank you for visiting my space Dina, so I was able to discover yours. I love reading about restaurant reviews and the current trends in food. Gives me a lot of inspiration to create.

Leave a Reply

