Two for Tuesday: Lasagna

This week’s Two for Tuesday is lasagna. Sure, everyone is familiar with lasagna #1, layers of pasta, ricotta, mozzarella and tomato sauce.  This is the Southern Italian version of lasagna.  (There are variations of this with meat or meat sauce.)

lasagna

Lasagna, like any pasta, lends itself to some creative concoctions, like butternut squash lasagna, which has become popular as of late.  I don’t think too many people have heard of green lasagna from Modena.  Modena is a city in the Emilia-Romagna region of northern Italy.  Here, lasagna is made with green pasta, made from spinach, and layers of bechamel, parmesan and a Bolognese sauce.  I recently tried it at Via Emilia, a restaurant in New York’s Flatiron District that specializes in Modenese cuisine.

lasagna

I thought this was very good, and I didn’t leave any on my plate.  In general, I’m not a fan of Bolognese sauce or ground meat in my gravy, and in this dish, I would’ve preferred less meat so that I could savor the creaminess of the bechamel and cheese.  However, I liked it very much.  Does it replace lasagna #1? No, but it’s also very different.

2 responses to “Two for Tuesday: Lasagna

  1. A few months ago I had a butternut squash lasagna that was great – but I think I’m still partial to just good old-fashioned lasagna with plenty of cheese and red sauce!

  2. I love lasagna, one of my favorite weeknight meals. In fact, I just made it the other day – it’s easy, practical, and comforting after a long day at work.

Leave a Reply

