Anzac Biscuits

Anzac biscuits

April 25th is Anzac Day in Australia and New Zealand.  I’ve seen recipes for Anzac biscuits on other food blogs, and I’ve always wanted to make them.  Anzac biscuits are made on Anzac Day in memory of the soldiers who fought at Gallipoli during World War I.  I cry every time I hear the song “And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda” by Eric Bogle, a beautiful song that reminds us of the sadness and horror of war.

Anzac biscuits were made during the war because there was a shortage of eggs at the time, and the biscuits kept well for a long time.

Anzac biscuits

1 cup flour

1 cup oats

1 cup sugar

3/4 cup coconut

1 stick butter

2 tablespoons golden syrup

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon boiling water

Mix dry ingredients in a bowl.  Melt butter with golden syrup in a pot.  Boil water and add to baking soda.  It fizzes a bit.  Add this to the butter/syrup mixture and watch it fizz even more.  Add this to the dry ingredients and mix.  Put spoonfuls on a baking sheet at 300 degrees for 20 minutes.  Most recipes I read say the biscuits spread but mine didn’t.

4 responses to “Anzac Biscuits

  1. These are something I have never tried but will definitely put on my to do list! My brother is living in Sydney at the moment and mentioned these so delighted to find a recipe!

    • huntfortheverybest

      Thanks! I enjoyed them. What fun for your brother! I’d love to try the local cuisine there.

  2. I cry too over that song. I love Anzac cookies, but that is not surprising given that I was born in Australia!

Leave a Reply

