Two for Tuesday: Piemonte Ravioli

This week’s Two for Tuesday are two of my favorite pastas–ravioli and fusilli.  The Piemonte Ravioli store on Grand Street in Manhattan’s Little Italy has been making fresh pasta since 1920.  Whenever I’m in the neighborhood, I stop in and get some kind of pasta.  I love the variety here.  My favorite pasta growing up was fusilli.  In stores these days, it seems that the only fusilli you can find is short, but at Piemonte, you can find the long fusilli.

fusilli1

We always served this with a generous dollop of ricotta cheese.

fusilli

I also tried the store’s namesake, ravioli.

ravioli

I bought regular and sweet potato.

ravioli1

I ate the regular ones the way I’m used to with tomato sauce and Locatelli cheese.

ravioli2

I ate the sweet potato ones with butter.  They were delicious that way.

2 responses to “Two for Tuesday: Piemonte Ravioli

  1. I’m always attracted to unusual pasta shapes and I love the curly fusilli. I didn’t know about Piemonte Ravioli. Thanks for clueing me in. I’ve overdue for a visit to that neighborhood.

  2. Oh, gosh, how lucky you are to be able to frequent this wonderful Italian shop. I have a feeling I’d do a load of damage to my wallet if I was let loose there🙂

Leave a Reply

