Sweets Week: Day 3: Amy’s Bread

Enter my giveaway to win a copy of Susan Meisel’s new book, New York Sweets: A Sugarhound’s Guide to the Best Bakeries, Ice Cream Parlors, Candy Shops, and Other Emporia of Delicious Delights.

Amy’s Bread is a popular bake shop with breads, cakes, cupcakes, cookies and muffins and scones with locations on Bleecker Street and in Chelsea Market and Hell’s Kitchen.  As soon as I walked into the bustling bakery, I saw the yellow cake with pink frosting and knew I had to have it.  I also love red velvet cake, so I ordered a slice of that too.

Amy's Bread cakes

I love the pink and red together.  So pretty!

Verdict:  The cake layers are fresh, and the red velvet cake actually had a cocoa flavor, a nice surprise since so many red velvet cakes don’t have a cocoa taste.  The pink frosting on the yellow cake was a sweet buttercream.  For red velvet cake, I have to have cream cheese frosting.  When I tasted this red velvet cake, I knew it was a shortening-buttercream frosting, which is not a favorite of mine.  I later found out that it’s a Swiss meringue buttercream frosting.

3 responses to “Sweets Week: Day 3: Amy’s Bread

  1. I guess it’s the girly girl in me, but I just love the idea of that pretty pink frosting atop a fluffy yellow cake. That’s going on my “to bake” list right away.

    When I was growing up in Houston there was a bakery called the Kolache Shop that made the most wonderful red velvet cake with 7 minute frosting so that is the way I like it. I have a great recipe but the only problem is that you have to eat it within a couple of hours or it melts, so I usually make it with cream cheese which is my second choice.

  2. I love yellow cake! It’s one of my all-time favorites.

  3. Looks like a wonderful spot for a nice slab of cake! YUMMY.

Leave a Reply

