Sweets Week: Day 2: Babycakes NYC

Enter my giveaway to win a copy of Susan Meisel’s new book, New York Sweets: A Sugarhound’s Guide to the Best Bakeries, Ice Cream Parlors, Candy Shops, and Other Emporia of Delicious Delights.

For those of you who follow a vegan lifestyle, Babycakes NYC is a godsend. The vegan bakery also caters to those with food allergies and dietary restrictions with baked goods that are refined-sugar–free, gluten-free, wheat-free, soy-free, dairy-free, egg-free or kosher.  I don’t have any particular dietary restriction, but I visited Babycakes NYC with a friend of mine who is vegan.  We tried a bunch of doughnuts and a red velvet cupcake.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Verdict:  My friend who is vegan loved these, especially the salted caramel doughnut.  I really love cream cheese frosting on my red velvet cupcake, so it didn’t appeal to me.  But I’m not the target customer.  I thought these were very good alternatives if you have a dietary restriction.

One response to “Sweets Week: Day 2: Babycakes NYC

  1. Oh my God! They look great! Now I want to live in New York

Leave a Reply

