Lenten Dinner: Eggs and Sauce

eggs and sauce

When I was growing up, my grandmother would make eggs and sauce on a Friday during Lent.  I loved this dish and wanted my mom to recreate it, but she didn’t do well.  I tried it and was pleasantly surprised at that familiar taste.  (I’m sorry for the bad photos, as it doesn’t do my grandma’s dish justice.)  I’m not sure the origin of this dish.  It is not eggs in purgatory.  I thought it tasted more like the Moroccan/Israeli shakshouka.  However, this isn’t baked; it’s cooked on the stove.  And other things that separate my grandma’s eggs in sauce from these dishes are that the eggs are hard-cooked and the sauce is runny/thin.  It may not look like much in this photo, but this is delish!

Eggs and sauce

1 small onion, chopped or sliced

6 eggs

2 (8 oz.) cans tomato sauce (Grandma and I use Del Monte’s) and 1 can of water

salt and pepper to taste

olive oil

In a medium-sized pot, cook onion in olive oil until soft (about 10 minutes).  Add tomato sauce.  Bring to a low boil.  Add eggs one at a time.  Add salt and pepper.  Lower heat to a simmer and let eggs cook until hard-cooked (about 20 minutes).  Serve with bread to sop up the sauce.

You know it's right when the eggs look like this.

You know it’s right when the eggs look like this.

Leave a Reply

