Two for Fat Tuesday: King Cake and Carnevale Cake

Whether it’s Mardi Gras, Carnevale, Fat Tuesday or Shrove Tuesday to you, one thing is certain:  it’s a time to party and feast.  In my family, today was license to gorge because you would be giving up something for Lent.  During Lent, we didn’t eat meat on Fridays.  As a child, I would always give up candy for Lent.  I haven’t thought about what I’m going to give up this year.  I should probably give up Seamless or NYC restaurants if I really want to give up something I love.  Enough talk of giving things up, that’s for tomorrow.

A Neapolitan tradition for Carnevale was making large meatballs with raisins.  My grandmother used to make these, but because most people in the family didn’t like the raisins, she left them out.  My mother remembers a big feast, like the street festivals, in celebration of Fat Tuesday.

I think King Cake is the most popular food for Mardi Gras, at least in the U.S.

From searching online, I see that there are many variations of this cake.  I found a recipe for Haydel’s King Cake from Haydel’s Bakery, a popular place to order King Cake.  Don’t forget to hide the baby inside!

photo used with permission of Haydel's Bakery

photo used with permission of Haydel’s Bakery

If you want to go the Venetian route and celebrate Carnevale, you may want to get out your mask and make this Carnevale Cake from Linda’s Italian Table.

photo used with permission of Linda's Italian Table

photo used with permission of Linda’s Italian Table

One response to “Two for Fat Tuesday: King Cake and Carnevale Cake

  1. I think giving up Seamless for Lent makes sense. I’m not Catholic; was raised Assemblies of God Evangelical and, honestly, there is no tradition of sacrifice for Lent, but I went to Santa Fe for school (3 years; no degree) in the latter 80s and my first friend there literally packed up and put away her stereo for Lent, which intrigued me, and I did further research.
    All of this is to say that Seamless is a leetle too easy to press the buttons on my iPad, so it makes sense to me to give it up for 40 days. That or chocolate, and, honestly, would rather keep (dark) chocolate. Because it’s better for you, right?

Leave a Reply

