The Diet Resolution

This time of year gets everyone thinking of New Year’s resolutions and what they’d like to change.  I know I want to go on a diet, like everyone else, after the holidays!  From reading my blog, I know you wouldn’t believe it, but I eat clean the majority of the time.  Years ago, I got into eating healthy and then I found Oxygen magazine and Tosca Reno’s great advice, and since then, I’ve followed a clean eating plan.  OK, I obviously don’t follow it 100%, but outside of the dinners and treats on my blog, I do.  This is a typical day for me:

Breakfast:  1 cup plain oatmeal with cinnamon and ground flax, 1/2 grapefruit, bottle of water, cup of tea.

Work snacks:  banana, apple, grapes, grape tomatoes, chunks of cucumbers, celery sticks, berries, plain yogurt with Mio or a Greek yogurt.

I always keep packets of almonds, cups of microwaveable brown rice and canned tuna in my desk.  Also some spices like cinnamon to add to my tea.  I drink a lot of water and tea while I’m at work too.

Lunch:  varies but usually ground chicken patty or a sandwich of lean turkey/chicken on an Arnold sandwich thin and fat-free cheese with lettuce and mustard.

Dinner:  plain pork chops with some applesauce, ground chicken patties, shrimp, chicken breasts seasoned, or turkey meatloaf with veggies (usually canned or frozen, sometimes fresh).

Snacks:  apples, sugar-free Jell-O, grapes, grapefruit, berries.  The occasional popcorn.  Sometimes, I add a sprinkle of dark chocolate chips or oatmeal to my yogurt.  I also like tomatoes and avocado in yogurt with a little salt.  If I’m really hungry, I’ll have a bowl of a healthier cereal with skim milk.

On the weekends, I have a cheat meal (or two).

Leave a Reply

