Rice Pudding

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Since I’ve had my rice pudding kick, I wanted to find a rice pudding recipe that didn’t use eggs (that’s how I like it).  I found one in a new cookbook called From a Southern Oven:  The Savories, The Sweets by Jean Anderson.  Jean is from the Triangle, and her book has some great classic recipes.  She mentions an 1850 version of rice pudding.  Her updated version uses cream and milk instead of just milk, a 3/4 cup each.  I LOVE cream, so my version uses more.  I basically followed her recipe, except for using more cream and not using lemon zest.

Creamy Rice Pudding

3/4 cup rice (I used Carolina rice which makes such a nice, creamy rice.)

salt

1 cup heavy cream

1/2 cup whole milk

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup raisins (optional)

1 teaspoon vanilla

dash nutmeg (optional)

Cook rice, with a dash of salt, according to package directions.  When cooked, add other ingredients plus a dash salt.  Butter or spray a casserole dish, add mixture and bake at 325 degrees for 35-40 minutes.  Let cool.  You can eat it warm, but it might be liquidy.  You can cook it a little longer if it is.  I prefer it cold, so I recommend refrigerating it and eating it the next day.  I’ve made this with and without raisins, and both are great.

2 responses to “Rice Pudding

  1. i am a big lover of rice puddings and your recipe looks yummy! i make mine in an indian style. it’s called kheer and we add rose water….it’s wonderful🙂

  2. It’s easy to get on a rice pudding kick. It’s total comfort — filling, nourishing, sweet, and oh-so wonderfully creamy.

Leave a Reply

