Chelsea Market

I took a trip to the High Line today and stopped at Chelsea Market.  From the 1890s to the 1950s, Chelsea Market was the site of the National Biscuit Company, or Nabisco.

National Biscuit Company memorabilia

Nabisco created the American classics:  Uneeda Biscuit, Fig Newtons, Saltines, Vanilla Wafers, Oreos and Barnum’s Animal Crackers.

National Biscuit Company memorabilia

In 1997, Chelsea Market opened with specialty food shops.  Today, it’s home to the Food Network as well.  I visited Chelsea Market Baskets today, a shop that has many gourmet and specialty food products and makes gift baskets.  I got some delicious shortbread from Scotland here as well as some other yummy items.  I even saw cornmeal from North Carolina.

I also checked out the Manhattan Fruit Exchange, a chilly produce market with much variety.  Here, I found crosnes, or Chinese artichokes, tubers that I’ve never seen before.

crosnes

I also saw red walnuts from Sanguinetti Farms in California.  Not genetically modified, they were created by grafting Persian walnuts onto English walnuts.

Sanguinetti Farms Red Walnuts

Chelsea Market is a fun stop.  I find the food here to be hit or miss, but I’ve enjoyed The Green Table every time I’ve eaten there.

Leave a Reply

