Red Velvet Fail

Red velvet is still incredibly popular.  We see it in various forms:  red velvet cake, red velvet cupcakes, red velvet whoopie pies, red velvet ice cream, and the list goes on.  I admit there is something comforting and all-American about it, that I, too, am a huge fan.  I was quite disappointed when I went to David Burke Kitchen and they didn’t have the red velvet sundae or cake they have mentioned on their Web site’s menu.  I also went to Co-op Food & Drink on the Lower East Side, hankering for some red velvet pancakes with chocolate chips and whipped cream cheese and it, too, wasn’t available.  What’s up with the red velvet fail?  At least I got somewhat of a red velvet fix a few doors down at sugar Sweet sunshine where there were plenty of Sexy and Sassy Red Velvet cupcakes.  I got a Sexy one.  It was a fresh cupcake, but the frosting was a bit boring for me.  I like a cream cheese frosting on my red velvet cake/cupcake, so this didn’t exactly hit the spot.  What’s a girl to do?

One response to “Red Velvet Fail

  1. I hope you will get your red velvet fix soon! I must admit that I have still never tried a red velvet cake … something I must rectify very soon!

Leave a Reply

