Japan Week

I went to Japan Week in Vanderbilt Hall at Grand Central Station today.  I saw a cooking demonstration–Hojicha braised beef short ribs by Chef Helen Park.  At the end of the demonstration, I got a free sample.  It was delicious.

Hojicha Braised Beef Short Ribs

 I also sampled some very good blueberry tea from Ito En.  I saw the fried balls of takoyaki from Otafuku, but after the great short rib, I wasn’t sure if I could try fried octopus balls (but I do like octopus).

The Japanese Culinary Center had lunch boxes and cutlery.  There were travel booths as well.  Of course, I headed for Kitchoan, Japanese sweets.  I bought a couple of goodies from a gracious man at the booth.  I got Fukuwatashi senbei, a crisp waffle cookie with very creamy filling.  Yum! 

Kitchoan goodies

I also got Sakuranbo, a Japanese cherry in jelly.   It was interesting, kind of like something moms used to do–put fruit in gelatin.  It doesn’t look pretty, but it’s quite pleasant.  I love the bright red color of the Japanese cherry.

Japanese cherry jelly

Leave a Reply

